top of page

An Intro to the Chakras

The word Chakra means “wheel”; a vortex of vibration, light and energy. There are seven main chakras in the body and each relate to physical, emotional and spiritual characteristics. Each chakra vibrates to a frequency of light which is expressed as color, and to a specific sound or hertz frequency. Click here for an incredible visual of chakras in action, and for more in-depth information.


Root Chakra  {Muladhara} "I Am"- The first chakra located at the base of your spine. This chakra deals primarily with basic human needs. It is the foundation of our earthly "house", or our physical body. Fear, coping mechanisms, family imprinting and unprocessed trauma are stored in the root chakra. A balanced root chakra = feeling grounded, secure and safe in your body and your world.

The color associated with this chakra is RED.


Root Chakra Affirmation: "I AM grounded into the heart of Mother Earth. The world is a safe and loving place where ALL of my needs are met."


Sacral Chakra  {Svadhisthana} "I Feel" - The second chakra located in the lower abdomen, below the navel. This chakra deals with creativity, relationships, sexuality and emotions. A balanced sacral chakra = being emotionally balanced; being open to new ideas and changes; having intimacy with others while maintaining personal boundaries; embracing your soul's unique creative expression.

The color associated with this chakra is ORANGE.


Sacral Chakra Affirmation: "I honor my body, my feelings and my creative passion as I AM the Divine in physical form. All of my relationships are sacred as they help me to understand myself more deeply."


Solar Plexus Chakra  {Manipura}  "I Do" - The third chakra located right above the navel. This chakra is the power center, your personal sun. Issues of identity, self-esteem, self-acceptance and self-worth are centered here. A balanced solar plexus chakra = embracing your personal power by being proactive in your own life; feeling confident of your own unique individualism; accepting yourself and others without judgement or criticism.

The color associated with this chakra is YELLOW


Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmation: "I AM the powerful creator of my own reality. I can effortlessly accomplish ANYTHING that is aligned with my highest good."

Heart Chakra  {Anahata}  "I Love" - The fourth chakra located in the center of the chest. It is the center point between the lower and higher energy centers. This chakra deals primarily with compassion and love. A balanced heart chakra = having empathy and love for yourself and others; being connected to ALL life on this planet; striving to process all external energies from a place of LOVE; being at peace with yourself and the world around you.

The color associated with this chakra is GREEN.


Heart Chakra Affirmation: "I open my heart in love and gratitude. I love myself and all others without any conditions or expectations."


Throat Chakra  {Vishuddha} "I Speak" - The fifth chakra located at the base of the throat. This chakra deals with expression and communication, as well as listening and hearing. A balanced throat chakra = speaking your truth without fear of rejection; communicating your thoughts, desires and feelings freely; fully hearing others; listening to your own intuition, Higher Self and guides.

The color associated with this chakra is BLUE.


Throat Chakra Affirmation: "I speak my truth openly and honestly. My unique perspective and wisdom are gifts that I willingly share with all."


Third Eye Chakra  {Ajna} "I See"- The sixth chakra located at the forehead between the eyebrows. The third eye chakra governs both the conscious and subconscious mind. This chakra deals with thinking and learning, as well as inner vision, insight and intuition. A balanced third eye chakra = having the ability to experience higher states of consciousness and limitless imagination; assimilating information conveyed in the dream state; having empathy; being able to easily learn new things and retain new info.

The color associated with this chakra is INDIGO.


Third Eye Chakra Affirmation: "I honor and trust my intuition completely. EVERYTHING that comes into my awareness is by perfect design so that I may have all of the answers that I seek."


Crown Chakra  {Sahasrara}  "I Understand" - The seventh chakra located above the head. This chakra deals with spirituality, unity consciousness and the connection to Divine Source energy. A balanced crown chakra = being fully present in the moment; having strong connection and communication with your Higher Self; being one with the Divine; and, having unconditional love for yourself and all others. The color associated with this chakra is VIOLET or pure white.


Crown Chakra Affirmation: "I AM ONE with ALL living Beings. I AM in Divine alignment and open to receive the limitless energy, abundance and love from Source."







bottom of page